by Adam Armstrong

Seagate Announces Seagate Secure Across Its Enterprise Datasphere Fleet

Seagate Technology launched a stringent collection of security features rolled out across the entirety of Seagate’s Enterprise Datasphere Fleet, Seagate Secure. This new set of features aims to keep all of the drives under the banner secure with specific feature sets. This will add even more security to the company’s proven technology. Seagate is also announcing its Exos line of high capacity enterprise HDDs.

Data is becoming more and more valuable, big data has the feeling of a new gold rush. However, this value doesn’t stop at the company that owns it. It can be valuable to less scrupulous sources. Noting this, Seagate has launched its new Secure program aimed to protect drives with one of two feature sets, Essential and Certified, depending on the type of security and threats a company may face.

These feature sets are and consist of:

  • Essential — these features are part of every Seagate Secure device
    • Self-Encrypting Drive: Every device uses hardware-based encryption to protect against most attacks.
      • Secure data locking using AES 256 standards with hardware root key and device root of trust
      • Drive locks on power-down
      • Industry-standard authentication key management interfaces
    • SD&D (Secure Download & Diagnostics): thefirmware is protected from attackers throughout its working life.
      • Digitally signed firmware with rogue firmware detection
      • Locked diagnostic ports
      • Cross-segment downloads blocked
      • Secure boot process
    • Instant Secure Erase: Administrators can instantly change the encryption key on any device, rendering its data unusable and making retirement or reuse much easier.
      • Fast, secure, and complete data erasure in seconds
      • Internationally sanctioned erasure according to NIST 800-88 and ISO 27040
    • Secure Supply Chain: Each of our components is sourced securely from trusted sources.
      • Seagate complies with the Open Trusted Technology Provider Standard (O-TTPS)
      • Third-party processes meet Seagate’s security standards
      • Uphold industry-leading firmware attestation to ensure customers receive authentic products, components, and firmware
  • Certified — these features may be added to meet regulatory or other requirements
    • FIPS 140-2 Level 2 certified configuration
      • Federal government encryption standard for sensitive, but not classified, data
      • Federal agencies and contractors must use FIPS level 2 or better
      • Tamper-evident labels
    • Common Criteria Evaluated
      • International standard for date security certification
      • Neutral third-party evaluation to certify secure IT products
      • Adopted and recognized by 25 member nations
    • Trade Agreement Act (TAA) Compliant Storage
      • Client, Enterprise, and SSD product compliance
      • Meets origin requirements for US Government purchasing contracts
      • Adopted and recognized by 126 member nations

Seagate also introduced a new drive line, Exos. This and its Nytro line make up what it is referring to as its Enterprise Datasphere Fleet. The Exos line are enterprise HDDs with capacity as high as 12TB, in the Exos X12. It has also updated its enterprise capacity, Archive HDD, enterprise 2.5”, enterprise performance 10K, and enterprise performance 15K into the Exos E line. The Exos X12 has capacity up to 12TB and sustained data rate up to 261MB/s. For the Nytro line, Seagate is stating that the drives have an upward capacity of 15TB and up to 8GB/s of sustained data transfer.

Seagate Enterprise Datasphere Fleet

Discuss this story

Sign up for the StorageReview newsletter

Related News and Reviews